Singapore Red Cross 49th Annual General Meeting

The Singapore Red Cross' (SRC) 49th Annual General Meeting took place at YWCA Fort Canning on Monday, 26 June 2023.

In his opening remarks, Chairman Mr Tan Kai Hoe elaborated on three significant humanitarian and social challenges that have influenced the Singapore Red Cross’ humanitarian programmes and services — the rapidly ageing population; mental health and well-being, and climate change.

He also reiterated that the SRC will strengthen capacity and capabilities to help meet these challenges in the areas of volunteer development and management; staff talent development; resource mobilisation and public outreach and communications.

Singapore Red Cross 49th Annual General Meeting 1

The Members approved the Audited Statement of Income and Expenditure and the Audited Balance Sheet for SRC for the period 1 January to 31 December 2022, as well as the SRC Annual Report 2022.

The Members also approved the appointment of Deloitte and Touche LLP as Statutory Auditor for 2023. 

The Council

On behalf of the Members, the Council and and Management of the SRC, the Chairman thanked Vice-Chairman Ms Tan Poh Hong, and Council Members Mr Ling Khoon Chow and Dr Saiful Nizam Bin Subari for their invaluable contributions and support, as they stepped down from the Council, having served six years as Council Members. They will continue to serve the mission of the SRC in various other capacities.

Mr George Goh, Ms Terene Seow, Mr Dennis Mark, and Ms Emily Tan will continue to serve their term as Elected Members of the Council till June 2024. Mr Puvan Ariaratnam, who was appointed in 2022, will continue his term till June 2024.  

Ms Agnes Eu, Dr Mohammad Zaidi Bin Ariffin, Ms Tracey Woon, Mr Muralli Raja Rajaram, and Prof V Anantharaman were elected to the SRC Council, for the term of office 2023 - 2025.

Chairman reappointed Dr Yap Kwong Weng, Mr Koh Yat Chung, Dr Ganesh Ramalingam, Ms Usha Chandradas and Mr Steve Lee to serve in the SRC Council for the term of office 2023 - 2025. Ms Yvonne Loo was newly appointed to the Council for the term of office 2023 - 2025.

Singapore Red Cross 49th Annual General Meeting 2

The Council will now comprise 18 members (including the Chairman and Secretary General), with nine elected members and seven appointed members. 

In closing, Chairman extended his heartfelt appreciation to fellow Council Members for their tireless dedication and wise counsel. He also expressed gratitude to donors and partners for their unwavering support. Chairman thanked and commended all volunteers and employees for their steadfast contributions to the communities they serve, and looked forward to the continued collaboration.